Convenient Hours and Locations

The Agganis Program is offered in 7 convenient locations in the Boston area.

We have daytime, evening and weekend classroom sessions to accommodate your teenager’s schedule. In addition, we offer weekly road test services.

As a courtesy to our students and parents, we send email confirmations of class schedule, each driving lesson, and weekly road tests.

When it comes to choosing a driving school, the quality of education and services provided is what you’ll be paying for! Please keep in mind that all driving schools are not created equal.

At Agganis Driving School, we offer the most comprehensive driver training available in New England. All successful graduates of our program also receive a substantial discount on their automobile insurance — up to $1,100.

Teenage Girl Learning How To Drive

If you’re a parent, we strongly recommend participating in the required parent awareness class before investing in a driver education program. It’s like taking a car for a test drive before making the purchase. During the parent class, you’ll learn about what is offered and what you should expect throughout your child’s driver training program.

Important Questions to Ask

Be sure to choose a driver education provider as carefully as you want your child to drive!

  • What type of training methods and materials are used during the classroom presentation? Ninety-five percent of schools are lecture- and video-based.
  • What type of grading method or evaluation processes are used for the behind-the-wheel training portion of the program? Nearly all schools lack these elements.
  • Does the school have a website and/or brochure that explains what they offer, including all program fees?
  • How many instructional vehicles does the school own? This impacts how soon you can schedule driving lessons.
  • When did the driving school receive its license to operate?
  • Is the school bonded and insured? They should be bonded at $50,000 and also carry a $3-$5 million umbrella policy (95% of schools do not carry sufficient coverage).

2. Agganis Pre-Permit Tests

The Massachusetts Learner’s Permit Test is more difficult than ever before. If you decide to take this test before enrolling in our driver education program, we highly recommend taking at least one of our online pre-permit tests. The pre-permit tests that Agganis Driving School offers are like replicas of the actual tests, focusing on Massachusetts laws, penalties and restrictions.

We know there are many others offering a similar service. However, the practice permit tests that you’ll find on the Internet are offered all over the country and do not provide preparation for the Massachusetts tests. Each state has a different set of laws with regard to operating an automobile as well as suspension periods, restrictions and fines.

Before applying for the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) Learner’s Permit Test, we recommend you study the Massachusetts Drivers Manual and complete our pre-permit tests. These tests allow you to practice and study via the convenience of the Internet. We’re the only local driving school offering this valuable service to our customers.

Purchase Up to 10 Pre-Permit Tests

You can purchase from 1 to 10 of our online pre-permit tests. Each test has 25 of the same types of questions you’ll find on the MassDOT test. And you get 25 minutes to finish, just like with the MassDOT test. (Remember: A common reason for failure is an inability to complete the MassDOT’s questions in time.)

We give you the flexibility to take the same test multiple times or to take up to 10 different tests. You’ll acquire the knowledge and confidence to increase your chances of passing the MassDOT test the first time. Plus, you’ll become a smarter, safer and more aware driver — today and for the rest of your life.

Learn more about our online pre-permit tests.

3. Applying for a Learner’s Permit

Planning your first trip to the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) to take your Learner’s Permit Test?
Please review the following information.

Taking the Test

  • Massachusetts Learner’s Permit Tests are conducted daily.
  • Plan on arriving at the MassDOT at least 1 hour before closing.
  • The test consists of 25 random, computer-generated questions.
  • You take the test at a touch-screen computer station.
  • You must correctly answer at least 18 questions in 25 minutes to pass.


In addition to passing the MassDOT test ($30 per test), you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Provide an original birth certificate and/or passport.
  • Provide an original social security card.
  • Fill out a learner’s permit application (ideally, before you’re waiting in line).

License-Related Fees

You may pay your license fee ($35 application fee and $50 fee for five-year photo license) before or after taking the Learner’s Permit Test. Assuming you pass the test, the advantages of prepay are:

  • You won’t have to make another trip to the MassDOT.
  • After taking and passing your road test, your permit will become a temporary license, and you’ll receive your plastic license in the mail in 7 to 10 days.

4. When to Enroll in a Driver Education Program

Massachusetts laws allow you to enroll in a driver education program at 15 years and 9 months of age. The sooner you get started, the more time you’ll have to prepare!

At Agganis Driving School, we recommend that you begin and complete the classroom portion before you take the Massachusetts Learner’s Permit Test. This will greatly increase your knowledge, which will help you pass the test on your first try.

This approach will also ensure you or your child have a greater understanding of the vehicle and the rules of the road before attempting to drive with a parent or guardian. Remember: Each student must also complete an additional 40 hours of practice driving with a parent or guardian before obtaining a Massachusetts driver’s license.

Enrolling in a driver education program has proven to have a positive effect on each step of the license process. It will also ensure your best chances of passing your road test on the first attempt and greatly reduce your chances of being involved in a crash!

Our Curriculum Will Teach Your Child to Think Critically on the Road

By the time your teen graduates from the classroom segment of our program, we suspect he/she will have plenty of driving information to teach YOU.

Our 30 hours of lively classroom instruction is designed for all learning styles — audio, visual and kinesthetic (hands-on). This comprehensive approach includes:

  • Personal anecdotes that reinforce safety issues in a descriptive, memorable way.
  • A customized PowerPoint presentation that allows students to observe driving techniques as they’re being discussed.
  • High-quality videos that portray real-life driving situations and consequences.
  • Computer-simulated driving scenarios that reinforce safety concepts.
  • Quizzes and/or tests after each learning segment

Agganis Driving School reserves the right to make substitutions or changes in program or fees without prior notice.

5. Scheduling Your Behind-the-Wheel Training

Whoa! We all know you’ve been waiting a long time to get behind the wheel. But don’t rush into it. By taking your time and educating yourself, you (and just as important, Mom and Dad) will have a much more pleasant and successful experience during this most nerve-wracking of steps.
Agganis Driving School features an online scheduling system, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. In order for your online scheduling to be activated, you must:

  1. Provide payment in full.
  2. Complete all classroom segments (including the parent awareness class).
  3. Provide your permit number and date of issue.
  4. Give us your email address.

Once you’ve addressed all of these items, we’ll send you a user name and password so that you can begin scheduling driving lessons at your convenience.

Your Driving Lessons

We recommend scheduling your driving lessons using our online scheduling system. Driving lessons will be added to this system about two or three times per week.

At Agganis, we do our best to keep each lesson to about two hours. However, a number of factors can influence lesson length, such as traffic, location and the students’ abilities.

During each lesson, students will receive a 50-point evaluation form. This document records all of the behind-the-wheel and observation time to ensure the student receives at least the required 12 hours of behind-the-wheel time and six hours of observation time before being certified as successfully completing our program.

Please keep in mind:
  • We’ll activate the online scheduling only if the parent awareness class has been completed.
  • Schedule these lessons so that you can take your road test within two weeks of their completion.
  • Waiting longer than two weeks has proven to increase the failure rate.

Agganis Driving School reserves the right to make substitutions or changes in program or fees without prior notice.

6. Driving with Parents

In addition to the driver education requirements, Massachusetts law also requires that students complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training at home.
As driving instructors, we understand how much anxiety and tension this may cause. However, we also know that the greater the level of education, training and practice, the more likely the student is to succeed! This is particularly important for someone who is getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle at such a young age.

Remember These Facts

  1. Driving is the first major responsibility of a teenager’s life.
  2. Driving is the most dangerous activity in which we participate on a daily basis.
  3. Driving is the #1 killer of teenagers.

Driving schools cannot ensure a student will drive in every environment, situation or condition, which is the primary reason why Massachusetts adopted the 40 hours of additional practice.

Tips for Training a New Driver

  1. Make sure the vehicle has a working emergency brake in the center console.
  2. Alert other drivers that you have a “Driver in Training” with one of our magnets.
  3. Choose a safe area (preferably an empty parking lot) to begin and then graduate slowly into neighborhoods, straight-aways, etc.

If your vehicle is not marked that you’re training a new driver, other drivers may become agitated and aggressive. Our “Driver in Training” magnets were created specifically to prevent this from occurring. They’ll also help make your and your child’s experience as positive as possible while the student is learning to drive. Promote safety!

Hint: Once your child has completed the first lesson (or two) with a driving school, he/she will be better prepared to begin the 40 hours of required behind-the-wheel practice at home. Each time you get out there, we recommend recording things such as:

  • Amount of time on the road
  • Time of day (or night)
  • Skills you’ve practiced
  • Weather conditions

Agganis Driving School offers pocket folders to help you keep track of everything during your behind-the-wheel training.

7. Prepare for and Take the Road Test

Once you complete the behind-the-wheel training, it’s time for your big moment — taking the road test (i.e. license examination).

If you’re like most anyone else, you’re going to have butterflies in your stomach the morning of the road test. However, preparing for the test with Agganis Driving School will help increase your chances of passing.

Weekday License Tests with the RMV: The Facts

Did you know that 20-30% of these tests are rejected because the paperwork or vehicle does not meet MassDOT requirements?

At Agganis, we believe these high rates are directly related to worrying and nervousness. Being better prepared and informed heading into the test will help you succeed. In fact, the success rate for students who completed our 12-hour behind-the-wheel program is 90%.

Smiling teenage girl holding keys inside car

8. Get Behind the Wheel

Once you pass the road test, be sure to get behind the wheel as often as possible. Driving on a daily basis will help you practice and retain what you’ve learned at Agganis Driving School.

If you continue to drive the way we taught you throughout our program, we can guarantee you won’t be involved in a crash that is your fault. How can we be so sure? Well, Agganis has been teaching and putting new drivers behind the wheel since 1970. Over these four decades, we have not been involved in a crash where the student or instructor was at fault!

9. Understand Restrictions and Penalties

Drivers and parents of teenagers under age 18 should understand the following restrictions and penalties.

Passenger Restrictions

For the first six months after receiving your Massachusetts driver’s license, you cannot have any passengers under age 18 in the vehicle. Penalties for violating this restriction include:

  • Possible arrest
  • Fines
  • Being taken to police station
  • Having vehicle towed
  • Court costs
  • Suspended license
  • License reinstatement fee
  • Insurance surcharge

Total costs related to this offense could reach $1,000. In addition, criminal charges may be filed for serious injury or death.

Keep in mind:

  • Immediate family members are allowed, as is anyone 18 or older
  • Any one under 18 can also be allowed if someone 21 or older occupies the passenger seat (must be licensed for at least 1 year)

First Speeding Offense

If you’re under 18, the total cost for your first speeding ticket could total $945 or more. Here’s the breakdown of fines and other penalties:

  • Minimum fine, first 10 mph:
    (plus $10 per mph above this)
  • Completion of the SCARR (road rage) program:
  • Attitudinal retraining program:
  • Learner’s permit fee:
  • Application fee for road test:
  • Fee to retake road test:
  • 90-day license suspension*
  • License reinstatement fee:

*Although the law states it will be a 90-day suspension, be prepared to wait for up to nine months before full reinstatement of your license.

Mobile Phone/Text Messaging

Under 18

No one under 18 may use a mobile device while driving! This includes talking, texting, IM’ing, accessing the Internet or using a hands-free device.

Violations and Penalties
  • 1st offense: $100 fine, 60-day suspension and must complete the attitudinal retraining program
  • 2nd offense: $250 fine, 180-day suspension
  • 3rd offense: $500 fine, one-year suspension

18 or Over

Those who are 18 or older may use a mobile device while driving, as long as:

  • One hand remains on the steering wheel at all times.
  • It does not interfere with safe operation of the vehicle.

However, you may not text, IM, email or access the Internet while driving! This includes while you’re stopped at a red light.

Violations and Penalties
  • 1st offense: $100 fine
  • 2nd offense: $250 fine
  • 3rd offense: $500 fine